Lost Password

Jamali elected speaker Balochistan Assembly


A senior member of the Balochistan Awami Party, Jan Muhammad Jamali, was elected as the new speaker of the Balochistan Assembly on Saturday. 
Jamali’s nomination papers were signed by Nawabzada Tariq Magsi as proposer and he was the only individual to submit his papers for the position.
The governor of Balochistan had convened a meeting of the provincial assembly at 3pm on Saturday, during which a vote was to be taken for a new speaker.
However, a statement of the Secretary Assembly was released maintaining that there would be no referendum for the election of the speaker. As a result, Jan Muhammad Jamali was elected unopposed as the Assembly’s speaker.
Read: Bizenjo begins second innings as Balochistan CM
The Secretary Assembly added that Jamali’s victory would be announced today at 3 pm.
Yesterday, Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo was elected unopposed as the new Chief Minister of Balochistan. There were 39 votes cast in his favour.
No member from the opposition benches registered to vote for the Leader of the House and did not participate in the poll.
No candidate had filed nomination papers for the post of the Leader of the House except Bizenjo.

Share This Post

Like This Post


Related Posts


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your rating!
    Please give a rating.

    Thanks for submitting your comment!